PhotoFriday – ‘Spot’

This week’s Photo Friday entry: ’Spot’

Click image to go to see alternate sizes (looks better larger).

The theme this week is spot which made me think of spotlight which made me think of this photo and how it came about. This is not something that many photographers are willing to admit in public but quite often the key to getting a good photo is pure blind luck (just look at good street photography)! I had just dropped down from the boat and had spotted this little coral outcrop and thought it might make a nice little photo, I thought I’d get my lighting right and then see if I could persuade my lovely buddy to do a swim by and be a model. Whilst I was playing with my strobe positions I took this shot and another photographer happened to be swimming past and his strobes happened to be on slave mode (slave mode is usually really annoying to everyone else since when you flash they also flash and if they are in your shot it often takes the focus away from the main subject in your picture rather than being a nice dark diver shape in the distance). Anyway, as you see – this combination of chance events culminated in this photo that looks as though the diver is intentionally lighting my subject with his spotlight. I had a few other shots where the lighting was slight nicer or the soft coral was wafting in a nicer manner but this was by far my favourite with the diver & “spotlight”. Hooray for pure blind luck :)

If you want to see more of my Grand Cayman photos then check out other photos in my Grand Cayman 2011 and Grand Cayman 2010 Galleries.

See all the other photo Friday entries (and submit your own) for ‘Spot’ here.

2 thoughts on “PhotoFriday – ‘Spot’

  1. Very creative Suzy. Way to go in using other’s equipment to your advantage. :-) It created a really nice effect that makes this image quite engaging.

Leave a Reply

