PhotoFriday – ‘Lucky Shot’

This week’s Photo Friday entry: ’The Lucky Shot’

For this weeks photofriday theme I’d like to talk about photographing clownfish (nemo)! The shot above was most definitely ‘the lucky shot’ because it won me a trip :) However in general photographing clownfish is a matter of patience. You find a nice anemone with pretty clownfish and every time the fish looks look in the viewfinder you click the button. They swim around and around and in and out so its mostly patience & luck when you get a good one.

If you want to see more of my underwater photos from various places then check out the galleries in my Reef Beasties Gallery.

See all the other photo Friday entries (and submit your own) for ‘The Lucky Shot’ here.

2 thoughts on “PhotoFriday – ‘Lucky Shot’

  1. Wow, you didn’t just get one ‘lucky’ shot, you have several of them here Suzy! It has been a long, long time since I have had the opportunity to photograph clown fish, but I remember the experience well. I remember thinking it was going to take me probably my whole tank of air to sit by that anemone. I never ended up with a shot, but have spent similar frustrations waiting for other Caribbean fish waiting in similar situations. I once learned how to spot a jawfish that has eggs, and when I finally found one, it ducked into its hole. I backed up a distance, and waited, and waited, and waited. It was near the end of a dive, so ultimately I had to give up and surface or face the consequences of being too determined. :-)

  2. Ha! Thanks Mark. I’m pretty impatient these days, if the critters aren’t co-operating I swim off and find something else. I agree, its very annoying when you find the perfect opportunity just when you’re low on air or deco time but its better than not seeing anything good at all! Doh!

Leave a Reply

