Photofriday – ‘High Tech’

This week’s Photo Friday entry: ’High Tech’

As a photographer the diving part of underwater photography often slips our minds, its just something we do in order to take photos in the ocean. At the end of October I went to the NEC in Birmingham for the annual dive show, I’m doing an assignment on photo essays of events for my degree so I took photos that I might not otherwise have focused on – to illustrate my trip to the show. This theme today has me reflecting on just how high tech all of our diving gear really is. We trust this gear to keep us alive at 30m under the water! Above shows dive computers that come in all different colours. They tell you all sorts of life saving info and we totally rely on them. Who here still does the tables anymore??

These, I assume, are compressors for getting the compressed air we breath into the bottle:

Stab jackets, BCDs, call them what you will they are essential for our modern diving experience in warm water. Recently the trend towards wings had been marked on our trips but I didnt see many on display at the show – not sure why.

People trying out rebreathers, I don’t expect to ever own on of these myself – until they are lighter and much less maintenance anyway.

Blast from the past – This is what they wore in the old days!

If you want to see my underwater photos from various places then check out the collection of galleries in my Reef Beasties Gallery.

To see all the other photo Friday entries (and submit your own) for ‘High Tech’ here.

Talking of high tech – Please check out my used Nikon Gear page, I’ve swapped over systems and I’m trying to raise money on my previous gear.

3 thoughts on “Photofriday – ‘High Tech’

  1. It has been soooo many years since I have been to a dive show. I am still using most of my original gear that I purchased in 1993, with the exception of an upgrade on my computer – and even that is probably out of date now with all the latest tech. Not sure I would have enjoyed using that big helmet, and along with that helmet came some pretty big weighted boots I believe. :-)

  2. Hehehe, yeah, I’m still using my original fins and BCD. The usual reason for my upgrades are lightness for travel, as the airlines get stricter with the allowances. I didn’t see any boots at the show, maybe they were too heavy to bring lol!

  3. Very interesting reflection on the technology that lets us take images underwater Suzy (I like the images too). I sometimes fear that we take the technology a bit too much for granted, especially as it is so reliable. Unlike you, I’ve given up the “fight to stay light”. Buying a new SLR didn’t help. I now spend money on excess baggage and take what I really want to, which includes some of my old, bombproof and yet rather trusty dive gear. Original BCD, original fins, original regulator…they weigh a ton, but they’re well looked after & fit like an old glove! Hard to let them go…

Leave a Reply

