Best Photos 2008?

What a year 2008 was, and fashionably late (as usual) I’ve finally got around to selecting my fav photos taken in 2008.

Here’s the gallery (39 pics) but I’ve refined it down to ten. Probably not the best technically but I enjoyed taking them and they are favs for a variety of reasons.

http://www.pbase.com/suzy_walker/best2008

top ten:
#10: Elastic band from my macro mystery series. I loved doing this series. The challenge was to find a new mystery to photograph everyday and to upload the answer to the previous days mystery.

Click here to see the rest of my ‘macro mystery’ gallery.

#9: Also from my macro mystery series, 13 inches.

Click here to see the rest of my ‘macro mystery’ gallery.

#8: Plastic Flower, from my swimming pool sessions with Martin Edge. This was the first time I’d used an SLR underwater (Martin lent me his for this session) and the first time I’d dived in a swimming pool. I like seeing something so obviously fake made beautiful just by adding water.

Click here to see the rest of my ‘Swimming Pool’ gallery.

#7: Schooling Jacks & diver, taken in Bali. I wasn’t all that happy with the photos from Bali as a whole, I’d not been practicing with my camera before we went away and I think it showed in the images I got my the trip. I did like this one however, who can resist swirly fish and a diver in the background 😉

Click here to see the rest of my ‘Bali underwater’ gallery.

#6: Blue, from my Venice carnival photos. This photo seems to get the most hits on my Venice gallery and was one of my favs from the trip.

Click here to see the rest of my ‘Venice Carnival’ gallery.

#5: Panoramic view from the Empire State building in New York, I loved New York so much more than I thought I would! I stitched together 11 massive RAW files and almost broke my boyfriends new pc (oops). Best when viewed at the larger size (I didnt even try and upload the massive original), even he was impressed.

Click here to see the rest of my ‘Panoramas’ gallery and click here to see the rest of my ‘New York’ gallery.

#4: Nemo! I’ve found you! Again! You can’t usually go into tropical waters without passing these little guys, usually very cross with you for being there so close to their homes but darn it if they are not just so cute in photos!

Click here to see the rest of my ‘Cebu, Philippines’ gallery.

#3: This very obliging octopus sat for his portrait in Egypt on our trip to the brothers. I love his texture.

Click here to see the rest of my ‘brothers liveaboard’ gallery.

#2: Tassled hawkfish kissing? Well, maybe just snuggled up together for a few seconds to peer at me. Its unusual for these guys to sit like this together, they seemed to like me though because they both kept coming back to the same branch. Unfortunately this bush was at about 26m so I had to make 3 or 4 dives to catch this one.

Click here to see the rest of my ‘Cebu, Philippines’ gallery.

and finally #1: Scad fish, taken in Egypt. The first time I’ve tried to take schooling fish with a macro lens. I love the blue and silver colours and the burst of bubbles behind all their grumpy little faces.

Click here to see the rest of my ‘brothers liveaboard’ gallery.

I hope you enjoyed my top 10 🙂

Suzy

22 thoughts on “Best Photos 2008?

  1. Pingback: Best Photos of 2008 by JMG-Galleries Blog Reader’s | JMG-Galleries - Jim M. Goldstein Photography: travel, landscape, and nature pictures - stock photos and fine art prints

  2. Pingback: Best Photos of 2008 – xgray vision

  3. Pingback: Jeremy Brooks » Best Photos by JMG-Galleries Blog Readers

  4. Pingback: SierraVisions.com » Jim Goldsein’s List

  5. Pingback: Best of 2008 Photo Results on JMG-Galleries.com » Phill Price | Photography

  6. Pingback: plαdys » Best Photos of 2008 blog project on JMG-Galleries.com

  7. Pingback: Best photos from 2008 by JMG-Galleries blog readers - All Narfed Up

  8. Pingback: 93 photographers share their best photos of 2008 — Lilahpops :: Plunging into Photography

  9. Pingback: Shoot First…Delete Later » Jim Goldstein’s “Best Photos of 2008″ Gallery

  10. Pingback: Best Images of 2008 by All the Photographers who submitted | jay goodrich photographer inc.

  11. Pingback: Best of 2008 for 93 photographers | All Day I Dream About Photography

  12. Pingback: Best of 2008 from 93 photographers | The Taelemans´ Blog

  13. Pingback: Best of 2008 Blog Projekt Auswertung | visuelleGedanken.de - Fotografie und Gezeichnetes

  14. Pingback: Always Breaking » Blog Archive » Best of 2008 - The Complete List - Mostly photos, but some other random stuff

  15. Pingback: Blog Project: “Your Best Photos From 2008″ | fotos.neuweger.com

  16. Pingback: Best Photos from 2008 Project - News and Views

  17. Pingback: Best photos of 2008 – Jonesblog

  18. Pingback: Jim Goldstein’s invitation to present your best shot of 2008 has borne fruit! | mark groves

  19. Pingback: The Results are In | JAY GOODRICH

Leave a comment