Best Photos 2009

Well again I’ve really enjoyed the agonizing process of choosing my top photos from the year. I’ve picked 100 photos and put them in a gallery here:

http://www.pbase.com/suzy_walker/best2009

This year I found many photos to choose from that I liked so I must be getting better at this photography malarkey (I hope you agree).  Again, we had a great year photo-opportunity-wise, we went to Raja Ampat (Indonesia) & the Red Sea (Egypt). We had some murder mayhem at the start of the year and We wandered around London experimenting with IR (failed) and HDR (better) techniques. The now closed Shunt Lounge at London Bridge provided some fun challenges too. And of course it wouldn’t be a photography year for me without playing with a bit of macro in the flat.

I tried to be good this year and only pick the best (and not just favourite – see my blog post here about choosing) but I think I failed and just chose what I liked most anyway 😉

So here are my top ten of 2009 (click them to see them larger):

#10 Angel in HDR. OK, we just moved out of London last week… I’ll admit it, I’m going to miss Angel. Probably not one of my best photos of the year but I wanted to mark the passing into our new life in 2010…

#9 Snapper explosion from Red Sea. See the full trip gallery here.

#8 James’ Mysterious device. See the full series here.

#7 Little fishy. Also from the red sea. These little guys are very quick but very graceful. I wanted to get a photo that showed that and I think this does.

#6 Mike & Suzy fish. Tiny glass fish blown into a glass fish bowl. Amazing item from Italy and I found it difficult to light.

#5 Fish tails. I loved the pattern they made. I’d have liked to get more in but the school was not really big enough.

#4 Leaf reflection. The Raja Ampat Mangroves were by far & away my fav experience this year! See the full gallery here

#3 Teeny Tiny bobtail squid. See Raja Ampat (not Mangroves) Underwater gallery here. This was a challenge & a 1/2! Night dive. Heavy lens & torch I could hardly hold up. Bobtail squid I could hardly see he was so small! Those white rocks in the photo are grains of sand & shell.

#2 Nemo. You know I cannot resist! I like the yellow he was on …

#1 360 degrees of paradise! Bit of a dodgy handheld panorama but it came out well …. click it to see a much larger size:

EDIT: a few people contacted me wanting to know why this wasnt on the list… so I thought I’d add it here as an honorable mention…

16 thoughts on “Best Photos 2009

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Best Photos 2009 « Memoirs of an Underwater Photographer -- Topsy.com

  2. Superb photos suzy. The red sea shot is exceptional. Absolutely brilliant. A superb year of shots. No doubt next year will be even better.

  3. Great collection Suzy. I know I missed some of these, so I am glad you posted them in review.

    The leaf is exceptional.

    I don’t know how you ever found that little squid on a night dive.

    Nemo is cool – I like Dory better. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Best Photos of 2009 by JMG-Galleries Blog Reader’s » JMG-Galleries – Jim M. Goldstein Photography

  5. I love the underwater wreckage and the panorama!

    I definitely would love to get into underwater photography more…I guess I just need to grab a housing and under things…

    Thanks for you pictures!

  6. Pingback: Photography News, Digital Camera Reviews and more » 124 “Best Photos of 2009″ Blog Posts

  7. Pingback: 124 “Best Photos of 2009″ Blog Posts : DigiSolutions

  8. Pingback: SierraVisions.com » 2009, Year in Photos

  9. Pingback: 124 “Best Photos of 2009? Blog Posts | Tutorial51

  10. Pingback: 124 “Best Photos of 2009″ Blog Posts « Tercero Aguilar

  11. Pingback: 124 “Best Photos of 2009″ Blog Posts « selected feeds and reads on photography tips and t

  12. Pingback: Best Photos of 2009 « GurbirSinghBrar's Blog

  13. Pingback: Проявитель-Закрепитель

  14. Pingback: Best Photos of 2009 by JMG-Galleries Blog Reader’s - Wow Photo

Leave a comment