Best Photos 2012

As in previous years it is time to review and select my best/favourite photos of 2012. I always really enjoy looking back over all the posts and pictures I’ve made throughout the year and reflecting upon how fortunate I am to go to such great places and have such supportive people in my life. With no further ado, and in no particular order, here are this years top ten (click each for larger version on pbase)….

‘Taj Mahal’ Cenote with Eleo. While we were in Mexico we popped down the coast to see the amazing underwater caves called “Cenotes”. When the sun shines through the holes in the jungle surface these caves are simply magical. I did several blog posts on them because each of them have different characteristics.

Cardinal and friends. I liked this one because even though its taken in the ocean it gives an aquarium vibe. Diving on a tropical reef is so often like being on the inside of a giant aquarium I like that when I capture it in my photos. I got quite a lot I was please with from Bali.

Operatic Nemo. This little guy looked like he was singing an aria for me (in deep baritone). I also love him because he won me the end of trip competition in Bali.

Fish are friends not food. The amazing thing about whalesharks is what they eat. The largest fish in the sea eats the smallest thing, plankton. I liked this photo above the other more traditional mouth open whaleshark feeding shots because of the little remora fish swimming for all his worth to try and get out of the whalesharks mouth. Remora fish usually hook onto other sea creatures for a free ride so this scene amused me even though the little fish is in no danger.

London Triangles. This year I started a new photography degree course (and a new blog to go with it). I’ve had great fun trying to bend the exercises into my photographic areas of interest. This one was from an exercise on triangles and patterns. Its taken looking up into a building on the south bank.

Singapore skyline. We stopped over in Singapore for a few nights on our way to Cambodia and I indulged in my joy of panoramas with this one at night take from Marina Bay.

Duomo. We went on a city break with a friend of ours to Florence. Its long been on my ‘must see’ list of places to go and it didn’t disappoint. As with many beautiful cities, florence has been photographed millions of times. I really liked this view of the Duomo in the early morning. Its one of the only times to get near it when there are no people but as you can see there are still cars zipping by. For me it infuses old and new.

Contrasts Assignment. I had a lot of fun creating the lighting for this assignment with some desk lamps and tracing paper. You can see the whole assignment here.

Decorator crab. This little crab knows a thing or two about camouflage. He’s actually got live corals living on his shell to enable him to blend in more easily with the reef. I found him while searching for triangles for my second assignment.

Giant spotty fish. I like this whaleshark photo as it shows off his spots. As tradition dictated we could only refer to them as ‘giant spotty fish’ until we’d seen one in case we jinxed the trip.

HONORABLE MENTIONS:

Since choosing just ten is very hard its became tradition for me to briefly mention the spill over … (click for larger):

I hope you enjoyed reviewing my images of the year with me. If you’d like to see more I’ve put my fav 100 of 2012 here. Merry Christmas & Happy new year everyone!

16 thoughts on “Best Photos 2012

  1. What a great set for the year Suzy! I do wonder what would happen if that remora happened to go down the whale shark’s throat. Would he be spit out? 🙂 That decorator crab has quite the bling on its shell. I have seem them with sponges, but not with coral polyps extended. How cool! Above all, I am jealous of the giant spotty fish encounters. Someday I hope to plan a trip so I can see them for myself.

  2. Pingback: Best travel blog posts in December « 101 Holidays blog

  3. Love the photographs, I will have to get into the underwater photography. I guess I should start looking for a good waterproof casing for my d700 I may just go with a waterproof point and shoot first. I could risk my d3100 but not the d700 I guess. What do you use to enclose the camera? Or is it an underwater design?

  4. Hi Jason, I’d start with a point and shoot first if you’re unsure – the cases often cost more than the camera! And then theres the lighting. I have a Nikon D300 in Subal housing (case). There are many different makes, I like mine but I’ve heard good things about nauticam too. For point & shoots its often best to get the manufacture made case, I know Sony, Fuji and Olympus all made underwater housings for their cameras.
    thanks
    Suzy

  5. Pingback: HAPPY NEW YEAR!! | Memoirs of an Underwater Photographer

  6. Pingback: JMG-Galleries – Landscape, Nature & Travel Photography Best Photos of 2012 by JMG-Galleries Blog Readers

  7. Obviously 2012 was a great year for you Suzy. I’m impressed by the range of subject matter and the consistent quality across the genres. All the best in 2013!

  8. Pingback: Tizia » Las mejores fotos del 2012

Leave a comment